Bring On The Biscotti

I happen to have a prolific sweet tooth, and a discerning one at that: candy bars, ice cream, cookies, cupcakes… in the gotta-have-it throes of a sugar rush, these simply will not do. It’s not that I’d turn my nose up at any chocolate concoction if offered, and I’ve yet to come across a creme brulee I didn’t like; but if you really want to know what my heart’s after, just point me in the direction of the pastry case. Delicate fruit tarts, Nutella croissants, lemon cake, cranberry scones, ginger bread… heaven, I tell you.

One of my all-time favorite indulgences is biscotti – the crumbly, break-your-teeth variety that requires a well-placed cafe au lait nearby. I decided to make up a batch (or two) to ship to my grandmother for her birthday, since my own affection for baked sweets is very honestly inherited.

This recipe for lemon-almond biscotti, borrowed from culinary crush Giada De Laurentiis, is amazingly easy. Literally meaning ‘twice-baked,’ the dough is first cooked in thick logs, then sliced on a diagonal and popped back into the oven. I love the added crunch from the almonds, and the lemon flavor from the zest is perfectly subtle. For a quick breakfast, these biscotti are relatively guilt-free – there’s no butter or cream in the recipe. Drizzled with white chocolate, they’re absolutely elegant.

Lemon-Almond Biscotti

***Author’s note: When left with eight zested lemons, what’s a girl to do? The obvious, of course. Freshly squeezed, iced lemonade is a pleasantly refreshing bonus on a lazy Sunday in the kitchen.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Bring On The Biscotti”

  1. joe dorsey Says:

    I am a total chocoholic, and my favorite Biscott (as we say in my family) is a chocolate one with chocolate chips and chocolate drizzle. I’m getting myself worked up.

  2. Leah Says:

    sounds wonderful! I also love biscotti. The other day I had a cranberry pistachio biscotti that was to die for.

    Like you, I also have a serious sweet tooth! I even like to add a touch of sweet goodness to my breakfasts. But recently I have been having McCann’s Irish Oatmeal for breakfast and adding a whole bunch of treats to add a little flair to my breakfasts.

    The good part? Um, its so good for you!! So it’s my little guilt free pleasure for now! you should really check out the website & facebook page! I am really pretty excited about my find.

Leave a Reply

